Race Build-Up: Calgary Spartan Super 2019

4-0-300 Blog 097

 

Alright moving out from the Black Ops posts and moving on to more recent events

 

This will be the first event I’ve run since X Warrior Black Ops in late June. Now training has been following the usual summer mode where it’s easy for me to work on my strength training but because I’m home with the kids during the day it’s very difficult to get any run training in. Also not helping that cause is my once-a-week-late-night run crew hasn’t been happening meaning I’ve run a total of 2 times since Black Ops, one of which was the X Warrior Canada Day virtual run. To say I’m not feeling confident in my endurance is an understatement so my goal is to find a pace I can sustain early and then just hold that for as long as I can. I’m hoping I haven’t completely lost the base I built up over the previous months. Now this race is only a ‘C’ level race for me so I’m using it mostly as training for other races and I’m not putting too much weight on results in terms of finishing time, I’m mostly looking to see where I’m at and test myself. The Calgary Spartan event is usually my focal race for the year so this mindset is a little different for me and will probably take some mental discipline to stick with especially if I find myself beside someone I feel like I could “race”.

 

Goals for this race are

  1. Finish – really not much else to say
  2. Less than 90 burpees
  3. Run consistently – Having worked this event the last few years I know it’s got some short but steep climbs so I want to handle that as well as possible

 

That’s pretty much it, short preview this time so hopefully things go well.

Outlaw-bull-scuplture-in-Calgary

Scotty Voodoo
I am a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become a OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.

Leave a comment