Race Prep: Run Training for Red Deer Part 3

4-0-300 Blog 046

 

With my first Spartan of the year just two weeks away I’m hard at work getting my running up to par. This past two weeks went pretty well as I was able to get in all my runs and they all felt pretty good.

 

The plan for the last two weeks was:

Week 3

Monday 25-minute hard run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 30-minute moderate run

Thursday 25-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 45-minutes or 6-8K, now this is the only one that was different as I did the X Warrior Virtual Canada 150 X Run 5K in a 20 lbs. weight vest.

Sunday Rest or Crosstrain/core strength and stretch

 

Week 4

Monday 25-minute Fartlek or hills run, I went with a Fartlek run as to drive to a decent hill at midnight isn’t a great idea

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 40-minute moderate run or 6-7K

Thursday 25-minute easy run, I actually did this run on the Friday as our run group was finally able to get together to do a run.

Friday Rest

Saturday 50-55-minutes or 8-9K

Sunday Rest or Crosstrain/core strength and stretch, went with a rest as I stayed up to late the night before to watch rugby so my body needed a day off.

 

Now on to the last two weeks, which includes the taper week 6.

 

Week 5

Monday 25-minute Fartlek or hills run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 45-minute moderate run or 7-8K

Thursday 25-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 55-60-minutes or 9-10K

Sunday Rest or Crosstrain/core strength and stretch

 

Week 6

Monday 25-minute easy run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 35-minute moderate run or 5-7K

Thursday Rest or Crosstrain low-level and stretch

Friday Rest

Saturday Red Deer Spartan Sprint!!!

 

That’s it, no more training for this race, although after this race is a quick turnaround for the Calgary Sprint. Hopefully this plan pays off.

mountain climbing montana beast 2016 scottyvoodoo

Scotty Voodoo
I am a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become a OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.

 

One thought on “Race Prep: Run Training for Red Deer Part 3

Leave a Reply

