Race Prep: Run Training for Red Deer Part 2

4-0-300 Blog 045

 

Gearing up for my first Spartan Race of the year I’m trying to hone in my running in preparation. I’m training as if it’s was 10K even though the race is 5, but I figure with the obstacles the cardio component of the race will feel like a 10K.

 

My running protocol for the first week looks was:

Monday 20-minute moderate run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 25-minute moderated run

Thursday 20-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 35-minute or 4-5K

Sunday Rest

 

This week went well got all the runs done while feeling good, and actually was running with better technique than before which led to faster split times then I’m used to.

 

Week 2 was meant to look like this:

Monday 25-minute moderate run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 30-minute moderate run

Thursday 25-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 40-minutes or 5-6K

Sunday Rest

 

However, I only got the Saturday long run in, the rest I could tell you my reasons for missing which really are just excuses or I can just own up say it sucked, and get back on track which is what I’m doing. I did get some good grip and strength work done so that was at least a good part.

 

Moving on to weeks 3 and 4, the protocol looks like:

Week 3

Monday 25-minute hard run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 30-minute moderate run

Thursday 25-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 45-minutes or 6-8K

Sunday Rest or Cross Train/core strength and stretch

 

Now Saturday I’m actually running the X Warrior Canada Day Virtual X Run while wearing a 20 lbs. weight vest (just because I can) so that going to hurt a bit but will also be 5K of my run so that’s a win, but also means I’m leaning towards Sunday being a total rest day.

 

Week 4

Monday 25-minute Fartlek or hills run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 40-minute moderate run or 6-7K

Thursday 25-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 50-55-minutes or 8-9K

Sunday Rest or Crosstrain/core strength and stretch

 

There it’s hopefully I can fix my attitude from this past week and get it done because Red Deer Sprint is coming up soon.

scottyvoodoo red deer spartan super 2016 running

Scotty Voodoo
I am a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become a OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
Leave a Reply

