Race Prep: Run Training for Red Deer

4-0-300 Blog 044

 

Coming off my most successful sprint race in terms of speed and consistency, I’m excited to get back truly conducting business for the Red Deer Spartan Sprint in 6 weeks. I’m really trying to address my weaknesses I continue to deal with race after race which are my running endurance and grip obstacles. With only 3 weeks left in the school year my training time is about to see a significant boost, so my plan reflects this as it scales up after the last day of school.

 

I’m going to do my usual HIIT workouts with Mondays being Upper body, Tuesdays lower body, Wednesdays core, than repeat until rest day on Sundays. Then add in some more running then I’m currently doing. I’ve kept a base after X Warrior but for Red Deer I’m stepping up my runs again, treating it like it was a 10k as the sprint is 5K plus with the obstacles, it usually makes my body feel like I ran that double the distance.

For my running, it’s going to be mostly at night after work as I want to spent my day having fun with the kids not trying to fit runs into my time with them.

 

My running protocol for the next two weeks looks like this:

Monday 20-minute moderate run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 25-minute moderate run

Thursday 20-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 35-minute or 4-5K

Sunday Rest

 

Monday 25-minute moderate run

Tuesday Rest

Wednesday 30-minute moderate run

Thursday 25-minute easy run

Friday Rest

Saturday 40-minutes or 5-6K

Sunday Rest

 

Now I wanted to pick a harder run program but as of right now I’m working 6-days a week so I don’t want to run myself into the ground as I already have caught a cold since moving to 6 days so I need sleep some time. After each run I’m going to spend 2-5 minutes doing some grip work. On my non-run days, I’m going to do some grip strength work when I get home so that if I fail a grip obstacle in Red Deer it’s down to technique and not my grip endurance or grip weakness.

 

That’s my plan, as for the blog it will be bi-weekly updates again and I’m still trying to get my son to write-up a review for the X Warrior kids race so stay tuned for that.

 

Red Deer Sprint I’m coming for you!!

Red-Deer-City-Limit-Sign-6274-350x200

Scotty Voodoo
I am a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become a OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
Leave a Reply

