Race Build Up: X Warrior Challenge

4-0-300 Blog 042

 

Gearing up for this race my focus was just to get back to where I finished off last season in Red Deer. My offseason training has me feeling stronger than this time last year while my cardio isn’t at the same level as a year ago it doesn’t need to be as I was taking on the Montana Beast around the same time in 2016, and I proclaimed 2017 my “Year of the Sprint” (so not running longer than a 5k race this year).

Having missed out on X Warrior last year my goal for this race isn’t so much a fast time as it is to be fail-free and to be a solid first step for the year. This race is also my first non-Spartan OCR so I’m looking forward to what else is out there as layouts and obstacles. This year I’m building up to August’s Calgary Spartan Sprint which is my ‘A’ race this year.

I’ve heard lots of good things about last year’s X Warrior, also at the Stampede Grandstand and having run all 3 of X Warrior’s X Runs since I’m really excited to run this race. Plus, as a former rodeo kid who grew up in Calgary the opportunity to run this race on the rodeo infield and chuckwagon track is incredibly unique and motivating. There is also one obstacle I’m really looking forward to is the Axe Throw, it just screams Canadiana plus having thrown some axes as teenager I want to see if there is any muscle memory of that.

 

To get ready the last few weeks I’ve been going a 10k running program (even a few runs in a 20-lb. weight vest) so we’ll see how that plus my usual lifting program fuse for Saturday. Either way I’m eager to get back out to racing plus I’ll have 10 weeks to tweak my training if needed before my next race, the Red Deer Spartan Sprint. One big change for this race I’m hoping leads to good results is my taper week is better set up for good results as in the past I’ve felt like I allowed a far to larger drop off my last week before a race and it hurt my performance. This week that hasn’t been the case so I’m anticipating to see some success come from that. 2017’s race season is finally here in Western Canada so time for a couple of light runs, then to get after it.

Outlaw-bull-scuplture-in-Calgary

Scotty Voodoo
I am a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become a OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
Leave a Reply

