Experience Review: Virtual St. Patrick’s Day X Run

4-0-300 Blog 039

This was an interesting event to review as the virtual run isn’t a race and unlike the other X Runs (October and New Year’s) I’ve done I didn’t time myself. Instead I took the opportunity to enjoy doing an event with my wife and kids. While the usual race you have a set start time and location the virtual run gave us the flexibility to work it into our lives.

The rules were pretty simple you had 3 days over the St. Patrick’s Day weekend to complete a 5k run, and to challenge yourself to 10 “penalties” along the way. The penalties are all bodyweight exercises such as pushups, burpees, air squats or mountain climbers. To prove completion, you conduct a Facebook live during the run, or afterwards submit a map, video or photo of your run and that’s it.

For us it was fun as we loaded up the car, took the boys to the zoo. Pulling them in a wagon while having to see every single animal makes for a slow-moving run but one of the most enjoyable you can have. Really a 6-year-old and 3-year-old don’t care how fast you want to move when you’re at the zoo. Getting to have them and my wife along for this experience made it a lot of fun as I think a virtual run that doesn’t match up to a training day would probably be a little boring solo.

The event had an evening deadline of March 19th (the Sunday) and we received our finishers packages on the 27th a turnaround of time of eight days which is a pretty good delivery time with a weekend taking up some of that time. The finishers package was a pretty cool green X Warrior Buff and shamrock medal.

The big question to me at the end is would I do this event or another virtual race again? If the time of year was usually decent weather wise (like this one was) and if I could match it up with family time again then yes definitely, it’s not too often run training mixes with family time so well. Now to see if X Warrior does another one or if I can find another one to do.

16177670_10158094098485261_253311267345994716_o

Scotty Voodoo
I am a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become a OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
One thought on “Experience Review: Virtual St. Patrick’s Day X Run

Leave a Reply

