Running Reset and Program

4-0-300 Blog 036

So, if you follow my blog you’ll see in post 034 I tried to start a running program as I gear up to the X Warrior Challenge in early May however a week of a stomach bug knocked me flat on my ass (see 035). Now mentally and more importantly physically ready to start running in preparation for the race I’m starting my new run protocol, over the next 8 weeks.

Now much like the last plan I intended to run I found this over on The Runningbug and here’s the direct link to the program. It is their intellectual property and I make no claims that is mine, hopefully it gets me ready for my first race of the year.

Now standard workout warning:

You should consult your physician or other health care professional before starting this or any other fitness program to determine if it is right for your needs. This is particularly true if you (or your family) have a history of high blood pressure or heart disease, or if you have ever experienced chest pain when exercising or have experienced chest pain in the past month when not engaged in physical activity, smoke, have high cholesterol, are obese, or have a bone or joint problem that could be made worse by a change in physical activity. Do not start this fitness program if your physician or health care provider advises against it. If you experience faintness, dizziness, pain or shortness of breath at any time while exercising you should stop immediately.

This program offers health, fitness and nutritional information and is designed for educational purposes only. You should not rely on this information as a substitute for, nor does it replace, professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. If you have any concerns or questions about your health, you should always consult with a physician or another health-care professional. Do not disregard, avoid or delay obtaining medical or health related advice from your health-care professional because of something you may have read on this site. The use of any information provided on this site is solely at your own risk.

Developments in medical research may impact the health, fitness and nutritional advice that appears here. No assurance can be given that the advice contained in this site will always include the most recent findings or developments with respect to the particular material.

If you are in North America and think you are having a medical or health emergency, call your health care professional, or 911, immediately.

My goal for the program is to increase my unbroken running distance in order to get ready for X Warrior. I’m intent on not missing a day although with my life schedule they may have to occasionally switch around.

Now I also had to bump everyday up one weekday as my race is on a Saturday, not Sunday as laid out in the Runningbug plan.

My mobility work from Ready to Run really has me feeling good so with this plan, my usual workouts I feel like I can hit my goal of a sub 1 hour race as long as I stick to the plan and workouts. I’ll post plans as well as my results every two weeks.

Week 1 starting next Sunday (edited: because I’m appartently worse at math than I thought and missed a whole week in my count)

Sunday – Rest Day, now with my workout plan this matches up as true rest day for me which is very rare.

Monday – 30-minute run

Tuesday – 30-minute run, now their site it lists this day twice with I’m not sure if it’s a mistake as no other day has two runs. Depending on how I feel I might go for the double as the second run is an easy pace run.

Wednesday – Easy 30-minute run

Thursday – Rest

Friday – 20-30-minute easy run

Saturday – 40-45-minute easy run

Week 2

Sunday – Rest Day, now with my workout plan this matches up as true rest day for me which is very rare.

Monday – 30-minute run, run for 5 minutes. Then walk or jog for 1, Repeat cycle 5 times

Tuesday – Easy 30-minute run

Wednesday – Tempo run 25 minutes

Thursday – Rest

Friday – 20-30-minute easy run

Saturday – 40-45-minute easy run

There it is the new plan. Hopefully I stay healthy enough to finish it this time. Check back for updates.

 

Scotty Voodoo
I am a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become a OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
Leave a Reply

