30 Day Challenge: Days 23-26 plus Days 15-22 Results

4-0-300 Blog 023

 

So first off let me apologize for absence I just haven’t had time with my workouts and family to sit and write an update on the 30-day challenge. Hopefully you were following along here.

 

Day 15- was a broken up 2.5 mile run, as my ankle has been bothering me I’ve been slower but at this point in my season it’s about finishing not time, so getting out and getting it done was reward enough.

Day 16 – 90-minute run/hike with the start being 2-4 miles of running than finishing the remaining timing hiking. This was fun getting the dog for this one, she actually was able to finish without the usual lay down and refusing to move.

Day 17 – Burpees, knees to elbows, squats & lunges day was tough probably the toughest workout in the challenge. I had to break it up quite a bit as it fell on thanksgiving and I couldn’t be out to long as we were all busy in the kitchen. There were plenty of times I wanted to quit this one, luckily was able to finish not in how long as it in and out of the house during sets.

Day 18 – Meditate, it was a nice break after the day before the mental rest was very necessary.

Day 19 – Spartan Up! Day meant to be the top of peak in terms of output for the 30 Day challenge and then we gradually taper towards race day. This was the hardest 15-minute workout I’ve ever done, the bear crawl off the start takes your energy right out of you. My arms hurt for a good 2 days after. I’m going to put this one in the memory bank for when I’m gearing up for the 2017 season.

Day 20 – Sport of Choice, again was playing Zombie with the kids at the park, always a great workout that doesn’t feel like one.

Day 21- Recovery Day, with the finish line in sight it’s important to take these breaks.

Day 22 – Ok finally caught up, 8 one-minute Heavy Carries with a 2-minute break in between rounds. It’s making the dollar store bucket purchase worthwhile I loaded up with any free weights I could fit in it and when for laps around the house.

 

 

Now on to the present, Day 23 is a Run/Hike day again for 90 minutes you’re on your feet, start the session with 3-5 miles running.

Day 24 – Pull Up, Jump and Burpee, this one is written funny so here’s how I read it. First 30 Pull-Ups broken as need, then for 3 minutes EMOM a broad jump then 5 burpees.

Day 25 – Yoga day, so stretch out your body.

Day 26 – Sprints & Run. In the morning 10 thirty seconds sprints with 3 minutes’ rests in between. Then in the evening a 2-mile interval trail run. Getting close to the end so hopefully I update a little more often into the finish, and we can all finish strong together.

 

 

The X Run is now full but X Warrior has started a new run for January 1st called the X Resolution Run which is essentially the same run, so sign up for that.  I feel like I should get a free entry for all the shout outs for them.

14691408_620502458111543_7967916789495577738_o

 

Scotty Voodoo
Is a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become an OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
Use promo: WCSTSCOTTM to save 15% for Western Canadian Spartan Races
Leave a Reply

