30 Day Challenge: Doing The SGX 30 Day Training Plan

 4-0-300 Blog 017

 

So I thought that the Red Deer Spartan Super was going to be last race for the year, I had planned on that all year was already working on my season review blog but still wanted to get out again after feeling so good for my last race. Then along came social media (cue angels singing) with a perfect year end gift. A local start up obstacle race named X Warrior Challenge was having their second event a 5k OCR-lite type race dubbed the X Run. The idea is a 5k untimed fun run with 10 optional “penalty” zones where you do body weight movements, which sounds like a great way to get in one last race. It also worked out great as I missed their real event in August as it fell right between my Spartan races and I couldn’t take time away from the family.

 

I decided a few things for this race:

  1. to relax after my Super until 30 days out of the X Run then try a SGX program Spartan put out last year as way to test it and get myself ready.
  2. to use the 30 day challenge as way to try and get others motivated to run an OCR race by showing my progressing and encouraging them to participate too.
  3. I’m too competitive for “Fun Runs” so I will be timing myself 😛

For the Pre-Test it’s three easy steps

  1. Max Pull-ups or Dead Hang Time
  2. 5 Minutes of Burpees for max reps
  3. 1 Mile Run or in my case I’m using 2k’s, it just works easier for me and my measurement methods.

Everyday I’m going to post that day’s challenge and my results from the day before, so I encourage you to get up, give it a shot, follow along and let’s see how much progress we can make together.

 

 

Now the link for the whole program is here: SGX 30 Day Training Plan

I don’t claim to own it and if anyone for Spartan or SGX wants it taken down no problem. Also standard workout boilerplate here

You should consult your physician or other health care professional before starting this or any other fitness program to determine if it is right for your needs. This is particularly true if you (or your family) have a history of high blood pressure or heart disease, or if you have ever experienced chest pain when exercising or have experienced chest pain in the past month when not engaged in physical activity, smoke, have high cholesterol, are obese, or have a bone or joint problem that could be made worse by a change in physical activity. Do not start this fitness program if your physician or health care provider advises against it. If you experience faintness, dizziness, pain or shortness of breath at any time while exercising you should stop immediately.
This program offers health, fitness and nutritional information and is designed for educational purposes only. You should not rely on this information as a substitute for, nor does it replace, professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. If you have any concerns or questions about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other health-care professional. Do not disregard, avoid or delay obtaining medical or health related advice from your health-care professional because of something you may have read on this site. The use of any information provided on this site is solely at your own risk.
Developments in medical research may impact the health, fitness and nutritional advice that appears here. No assurance can be given that the advice contained in this site will always include the most recent findings or developments with respect to the particular material.
If you are in North America and think you are having a medical or health emergency, call your health care professional, or 911, immediately.

 

Now we get to the fun part, come back tomorrow and see what my Pre-Test numbers look like and for day number 1.

http-cdn-evbuc-com-images-24050185-148247627756-1-original

Scotty Voodoo
Is a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become an OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
Leave a Reply

