Race Build Up: Taking on the Calgary Spartan Sprint for a Second Time

4-0-300 Blog 013

 

So first off sorry it’s been so long since my last post, with family responsibilities and really wanting to do well at my trifecta races this year I’ve been using most of my time for training. But now with only one race left I will have more time to get content up on here. I wrote this one up the day before the Calgary Sprint, I’m posting it after but I think it still holds water.

 

So since my halfway through my training update things really took a turn, and for once it was a good one. My training is really coming along I’m feeling stronger than I was for the Montana Beast which considering it’s a much shorter race is a major confidence boost. I’ve been doing a lot pull ups and chin ups to try to help my grip strength for this one. With lots of legs and upper body strength training days I’ve also been really working my core harder for the heavy carries, getting better at the climbs and strengthening my running form. My running is my weakness for this race I feel, as I haven’t been able to get in a much training as I would like (mostly my own fault) but it is a shorter race so hopefully it’s a non-factor this time out, as for me this Sprint is being used just to get my trifecta and more as training the Red Deer Super three weeks later. The run training, I am getting does really feel like it is making a difference though, using lots of interval runs and sprints with a few longer runs mixed in. The interesting part of this race is going to be the fact I’m running it twice in the day as I’m doing a team lap a couple of hours after my solo lap, now the distance shouldn’t be a problem as it’s still much less than the Beast or a Super it’s the amount of obstacles, as it will be more than any race I’ve done or have planned to do, so between waves I will be making sure to stretch out and rest my muscles as much as possible. My goal for the sprint is to finish in 50-55 minutes with no burpees so we’ll see how that goes.

 

My biggest frustration and motivational block at the halfway point was the lack of commitment from the people who said they were going to do the race with me but that has since passed. We have 6 people on our team which is below my goal of 10, but is still shaping up to be a good time and better group. I think it will be fun to take a lap without putting pressure on myself to go all out and to get a second shot at some of the obstacles. The team dynamic will be interesting as we have a few who seems keen on the team aspect and other who want to test themselves so we will either finish in one big cluster or break apart early to catch up at the finish line. Either way I know for this lap I’m not setting a time goal and as far as burpees go for this one I know I will do some to help out teammate so my goal is to not cause them to have to do any of mine, so only fail the obstacles they fail.

So tomorrow is the big day and fun looking test, we’ll see how different my body feels after two sprints compared to a beast. I’ll let you know soon how it went.

Outlaw-bull-scuplture-in-Calgary.jpg

Scotty Voodoo
Is a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become an OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.
Leave a Reply

