Midway training update

4-0-300 Blog 012

 

Well it’s been three weeks since my last update so I needed to get something up here. I going to do a couple of product reviews in the next couple of weeks but for today as I’m right in the middle of the Montana Beast and the Calgary Sprint I’m going to post a quick update as to how training is going.

 

Running

My running speed and endurance is staying pretty stable since the Beast, now that means I should be able to run the whole Sprint without issue so that’s encouraging to me. While I would like to get it up to Super distance comfortably I know I have an extra couple week to get to that point after the Calgary race. So I’m still doing 3 run days a week with 1 or 2 long runs a week and the opposite in faster paced interval short runs. I’ve reading ‘Ready to Run‘ by Kelly Starrett to help my technique more.

 

Grip Strength

With this being my Achilles heel during races I’ve been working hard on getting this better. I’m doing lots of farmers carries with my dumbbells up and down the stairs. Lots of chin-ups and pull ups, carrying heavy misshapen objects at work whenever possible. I really feel like I’m making progress but I guess we’ll see in August.

 

Overall Strength

This is the category with my biggest progress in this training window. I’m lifting more, with more reps than ever in both the upper body and lower body lifts. Overall I feel stronger than I was in May for the Montana race. Hopefully it’s a good omen for obstacle completion come the Sprint.

Nutrition

853611

My nutrition hasn’t been on point really but I was also allowing myself to not worry about that for the most part until this week and am now dialing it in. Knowing it’s a sprint race I’m more focus on building muscle so my diet is based on that as I want to be stronger and am now as worried about my cardio since it’s already where I want.

 

Motivation

This is the area of focus for Calgary that has been the lowest. I’m running my own heat in the morning to see how fast I can finish and if I’m ready for the competitive/elite waves, as well as a team heat in the afternoon. While I should be focused on my solo heat I can’t seem to get passed the block of my team heat group not having signed up and leaving me wondering if it will even happen. My goal is to get 10 people total for our team and am currently stuck on 2, and have been for a while. I know I’ve talked to the right people who will enjoy the race but am completely unsure of how to get them to follow through and get them to sign up. Hopefully once that starts to happen it will be a snowball effect and just keep blowing up, then I can probably not worry about it. Today was the first day I really just said: “F**k it” and started to try to focus on my heat. My goal is to run burpee free in under 45 minutes, it’s lofty considering my pass races but I know if I put it all together it is possible.why-do-a-spartan-race

 

So that pretty much sums up where I’m at right now. Time to get going harder and crush this race.

scottyvoodoo montana spartan beast 2016 log carry

Scotty Voodoo
Is a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become an OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.

 

2 thoughts on “Midway training update

Leave a Reply

