Race Review: Red Deer Spartan Sprint 2015

4-0-300 Blog 006

Location: Heritage Ranch, Red Deer, Alberta

 

Weather: 16°C, but with the sun it felt warmer

 

Festival Area: Was quite compact, with excellent viewing for the start, the final 4 obstacles and finish line

 

Course Conditions: Dry and clear, lots of forested areas

 

Course Layout: Pretty balanced, gentle sloping terrain with one big stair climb toward the end

 

Favorite Standard Obstacle: Herculean Hoist, one of the standard Spartan obstacles I had really want to test myself on

 

Favorite Unique Obstacle: Spider crawl, in the middle of the woods was a jumble of sticks and logs that you had to climb under, over and through in a maze like fashion to get through, it was a child like fun

 

Favorite Aspect (not obstacle): The fact you ran on a working ranch and would look over to see horses running in their pen alongside you

 

Race Synopsis: This race felt great. I was able to get out to good start, my running felt good. The first set of obstacles were the pretty standard moats, O.U.T., wall climbs, barbed wire than came a hilarious challenge. You put a wide, small diameter resistance band around your ankles and had to hop around a marked course, I fell over at the end laughing. The second half of the course was running than small clusters of obstacles then running then clusters and so on. I got lost really quick when a turn into the trees wasn’t well marked and I kept running along the path when heard people running of into the trees, so I had to backtrack and get on the proper path. Then a quick set of obstacles in to the finish area.

 

Total Burpees: 90

I failed at the monkey bars, spear throw and rope climb (again) Almost made the monkey bars was only 2 grips from the end. The spear throw I overthrew the target; lucky they’re tied to rope or someone off in the distance was getting speared. The rope climb I made it a third of the way up, stopped and couldn’t get going again, after holding on for a few minutes I had to let go and fall in the water.

 

 

Scorecard

Access A
Course Layout A
Incorporation of Site A+
Course Marking C+
Location A+
Overall A

 

Lessons Learnt: Biggest one was my grip strength/grip strength endurance was nowhere close to where I wanted it to be. I did have one stretch of needing to walk, and overall my running felt a little slow so the amount I was running wasn’t enough. But I did take away that I could do this sport well, and was only in need of some tweaking for the sprint distance. I had cut my time in half and was actually in the top 10% of finishers with only a month to improve from my first race.

 

red deer spartan sprint barbed wire 2015

Scotty Voodoo
Is a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become an OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.

 

5 thoughts on “Race Review: Red Deer Spartan Sprint 2015

Leave a Reply

