Race Build Up: Racing for Redemption in Red Deer

4-0-300 Blog 005

After racing the Calgary Spartan Sprint, I was hooked and couldn’t wait to race again for a few reasons. Firstly, it was such an amazing experience I was scratching for the rush of crossing the finish line. Secondly, while I had a great experience being a good teammate and course conditions meant I hadn’t really tested how fast I could run the course. Having done the volunteer day in Calgary I had the option to enter either the super or the sprint in Red Deer, I flip-flopped a few times but ultimately decided since I had no plan on my trifecta in 2015 I might as well test myself running all out on the sprint.

 

Training Plan

I only had about a month from the time Calgary was over until Red Deer so I decided to stick to my plan of 1-2 HIIT style workouts and a couple of runs a week, which I had used in preparation for Calgary with a little extra focus on pulling strength as that had led to most of my burpees in August. Getting in the runs was a bit of a struggle, and also quite boring as someone who was not a runner. The training runs felt bland especially since our work run club had finished up due to the start of school for the university students and also the schedule change for the parents with kids in school, something that would impact me as well.

 

Adapting to change

The biggest change during this window was getting eldest son going to school. The early morning wakeups meant I had to hurry the night before to get my training runs in, since I don’t usually finish work before 11:30 at night plus a 25 minute drive after all before having to be up before 7 to get the day going. This meant I often cut the distance way down to the point I was running maybe 7k a week total. I had no problem getting my strength sessions done, I did those at home with the boys often oblivious to my workout as they were busy playing steps away. I hadn’t made a lot of change since Calgary so I was interested to see how that would translate in my time on the course.

 

Race Day

On race day I met up with one of best friends and he came along on the hour and half drive with me which really helped me stay relaxed and not get to pumped up to early. We got to the race site nice and early, in fact early enough to hit up the festival area quite a bit. I saw some old ski colleagues and even had a long conversation with one of my son’s former soccer coaches who had run earlier in the day. By the time my heat was ready to start I had gotten everything done, had some social time and was now locked in. Now it was go time.

 

To see how I fared checkout the next blog.

Red-Deer-City-Limit-Sign-6274-350x200

Scotty Voodoo
Is a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become an OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.

 

3 thoughts on “Race Build Up: Racing for Redemption in Red Deer

Leave a Reply

