Race Build Up: Preparing to slay Spartan

4-0-300 Blog 002

So after I first discovered that Spartan Race was not actually a European only event I wanted to enter one so bad. Unfortunately, I was a week late in finding out about it for the one in my hometown and wasn’t in a position to have the free time to travel to one due to family and rugby commitments. I read Spartan Up! a short time after that and had now completely convinced myself I had to do it, so for Christmas I asked my wife to sign me up. My gift for Christmas would be that she had signed up myself as well herself, my sister-in-law and her fiancé. The race was August 15th so I had more than 7.5 months to get ready.

 

My plan was kept pretty simple some hiit style workouts every couple of days and because it was a sprint I figured a short run or two mixed in during the week. So I started getting ready, now I was not out of shape by any means was I in as good of shape as I ideally wanted to be in for the race. The workouts were really pretty simple to get done especially as my eldest son had started doing preschool and my youngest would nap while we waited to go back to pick him up, so I would crush a 45-60 workout Tuesdays and Thursdays. Running was another story trying to find time to go for run seemed really hard as the weekends were full on family time, the winter was a cooler one and I was getting shin splints and ankle pains when I did. So in order to make myself run I talked with some coworkers and we started an after work run club to run once a week. It wasn’t a long run just 4 kilometers but I figured it would be no problem, but I was wrong. I walked a lot more than I really wanted, but steadily week by week I was improving in both endurance and speed. There were some really good highs like the amazing feeling of still getting a run in while visiting family in the Okanagan on the treadmill in the hotel and I hate treadmills so that felt so good to get past that mental block. The flipside was the lows including a week-long trip to Las Vegas that was a no workout zone other than dragging a wagon full of my kids up and down the strip during the day, or carrying one of them pretty much any other time we left our hotel room. And trust me Vegas with a 4-year-old and 1-year-old is a lot of carrying and not the usual Vegas bender style trip. After that trip I was really able to dial in my program and my training so with two weeks to go I was feeling like I was ready both in strength and stamina for the race. That’s when everything flipped really quick.

scottyvoodoos vegas panorama

Two weeks out I got a bug that wiped out my energy levels completely so I wasn’t able to run or workout and was basically struggling to get through my days with my boys without help from my mother in law for a week. When I was finally feeling ok we brought home a puppy that my eldest son had picked out so that week was a constant circus trying to get her house trained, to get along with our dog all while trying to get somewhat active after a week of nothing. I felt like all the hard work I put in for months was washed right out the window, but rather than worry or dwell on it I just tried to move on. My wife and I went to a concert the Thursday before (Foo Fighters, it was epic), I took the Friday off work to be prepared and rest thinking the four of us were going to just go and see what would happen.

scotty and sophie

Well Friday night it poured rain and unfortunately my wife has a really bad knee that probably requires surgery so she wasn’t feeling to confident to run on the slick hills so we told her not run and to take it easy. Then my sister in law’s fiancé had to pull out due a bug probably the same one I just beat, so it would be just her and I running which was actually funny as we had never done anything just the two of us.

 

So that was my prep in a nutshell, next post will be review on the race and how we fared. Thanks for reading and stay tuned for the next one. Later.

 

Scotty Voodoo
Is a proud father & husband. A former semi-pro skier, turned rugby 7’s player, I’ve now worked to become an OCR racer.
A level 2 NCCP certified coach, I also hold coaching certifications in 3 sports.

 

2 thoughts on “Race Build Up: Preparing to slay Spartan

Leave a Reply

